Lower Connecticut River Valley Regional Plan of Conservation and Development

Documents and Maps

Documents and Maps

This page will be reserved for documents and maps that are to be reviewed during the process of preparing the Regional Plan.  At times the documents and maps will be available for review while other times we will be seeking comments on what is posted.

The Lower Connecticut River Valley

Council of Governments


The region is comprised of fifteen towns from Middlesex County (Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Middlefield, Middletown, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook) and two towns from New London County (Lyme and Old Lyme).  Middletown, located on the Connecticut River, serves as the region's urban area.

Major highways in the region include east-west Interstate 95 connecting New Haven to New London, north-south Interstate 91 connecting New Haven to Hartford, and State Route 9 connecting Interstate 95 in Old Saybrook to Interstate 91 after passing through Middletown.

The shoreline is served by Amtrak and the Shoreline East rail lines.